ST. BERNARD VILLAGE COUNCIL INAUGURAL MEETING JANUARY 1. 2020

The St. Bernard Village Council Inaugural Meeting was held on Wednesday, January 1, 2020 in Council Chambers.

<u>President of Council, Mr. Steven Asbach</u> – On behalf of Council, I'd like to wish everyone a Happy New Year and welcome to the St. Bernard Inaugural Meeting.

The invocation was given by Fr. Fred Link, Pastor of St. Clement Parish and the Pledge of Allegiance was then recited.

Roll call showed that six members were present: Mr. Tobergte, Mr. Ray Culbertson, Mr. Schildmeyer, Mrs. Bedinghaus, Mr. Siefert, and Ms. Hausfeld. Mr. Bob Culbertson was absent.

Comments, from Judge Melba Marsh, concerning each Council member and members of the Administration were heard and received most graciously. Six members of Council were sworn in: Mr. Tobergte, Mr. Ray Culbertson, Mr. Schildmeyer, Mrs. Bedinghaus, Mr. Siefert and Ms. Hausfeld.

Motion by Mr. Tobergte, seconded by Mr. Ray Culbertson to nominate Mrs. Bedinghaus as President of Council Pro Tem. Motion passed 6-0.

Motion by Ms. Hausfeld, seconded by Mr. Ray Culbertson to close nominations. Motion passed 6-0.

Motion by Mr. Siefert, seconded by Mr. Schildmeyer to elect Mrs. Bedinghaus as President of Council Pro-Tem. Motion passed 6-0.

Motion by Mrs. Bedinghaus, seconded by Mr. Tobergte to nominate Mrs. Kathman as Clerk of Council. Motion passed 6-0.

Motion by Ms. Hausfeld, seconded by Mr. Ray Culbertson to close nominations to make Mrs. Kathman permanent Clerk of Council. Motion passed 6-0.

Motion by Mr. Siefert, seconded by Mr. Schildmeyer to elect Mrs. Kathman as Clerk or Council. Motion passed 6-0.

Motion by Mrs. Bedinghaus, seconded by Ms. Hausfeld to suspend with the regular order of business for the remainder of the meeting. Motion passed 6-0.

The Oath of Office was then administered to the Mayor, Jonathan Stuchell, the Auditor, Peggy Brickweg, the Law Director, Mrs. Valerie Van Valkenburg, and the newly elected Clerk of Council, Sue Kathman.

Mayor, Mr. Stuchell – Never did I think that a kid from Athens, Ohio would ever become the Mayor of the Village of St. Bernard. The last nineteen years of my life have been the best years living here in this community. I am forever grateful for all of the support; I love this place. I'm ready for the challenge and I look forward to working with the members of Council and the Administration. I will continue to move the Village forward. I would like to thank everyone for their support. I couldn't have done this on my own. I had the best team in my corner, and I look forward to having them to work with me and I will promise to give it my best. Thank you.

Mayor Stuchell – As my Director of Safety and Service, Mr. Paul will be serving. As the Tax Commissioner, Leighanne Helmes, Recreation Director, Paul Schildmeyer, Assistant Recreation Directors: Jamie Hendricks, Kim Martin, Jeff Stegman, John Zerges, the Mayors Assistant will be Cheryl Abrams, Deputy Auditor, Jake Johnson and Tax Clerk, Chris Koone. All of the above were sworn in by Judge Marsh.

Motion by Mr. Ray Culbertson, seconded by Ms. Hausfeld to read this evening's Ordinance by title only. Motion passed 6-0.

ORDINANCE NO 1, 2020. AN ORDINANCE TO MAKE APPROPRIATIONS FOR EXPENSES AND EXPENDITURES OF THE VILLAGE OF ST. BERNARD, STATE OF OHIO, DURING THE FISCAL YEAR OF 2020, AND ESTABLISHING A NEW LINE ITERM, AND DECLARINING AN EMERGENCY.

Motion by Mr. Tobergte, seconded by Mr. Ray Culbertson to suspend with the second and third reading of Ordinance No. 1, 2020. Motion passed 6-0.

Motion by Mr. Siefert, seconded by Mrs, Bedinghaus to adopt Ordinance No. 1, 2020 as read. Motion passed 6-0.

Mrs. Bedinghaus – For the St. Bernard Council Committee assignments from 1/1/2020 thru 12/31/2020 are the following;

FINANCE Don Tobegte, CHAIR

Cindi Bedinghaus Bob Culbertson

SAFETY Ray Culbertson, CHAIR

Cindi Bedinghaus

Alan Siefert

SERVICE Chris Schildmeyer, CHAIR

Ray Culbertson Patty Hausfeld

PUBLIC IMPROVEMENTS Bob Culbertson, CHAIR

Don Tobergte Patty Hausfeld

LAWS, CONTRACTS AND CLAIMS Cindi Bedinghaus, CHAIR

Ray Culbertson Chris Schildmeyer

MARKETING Alan Siefert, CHAIR

Bob Culbertson Chris Schildmeyer

BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY Patty Hausfeld, CHAIR

Don Tobergte Alan Siefert

Motion by Mr. Schildmeyer, seconded by Mr. Siefert to receive and file the report. Motion passed 6-0.

Motion by Ms. Hausfeld, seconded by Mr. Siefert to set the date for the regular Council meeting for the second Thursday of each month at 7:00pm. Motion passed 6-0.

Mrs. Bedinghaus – The next Council meeting will be held on January 9, 2020 at 7:00pm in Council Chambers.

Fr. Fred Link, Pastor of St. Clement Church, - The Benediction was the Prayer of St. Francis.

Mr. Ray Culbertson – The next COW meeting will be January 23, 2020 at 7:00Ppm here in Council Chambers.

Motion by Mr. Schildmeyer, seconded by Mr. Tobergte to excuse the absent member. Motion passed 6-0.

Motion by Mr. Ray Culbertson, seconded by Mr. Schildmeyer to adjourn. Motion passed 6-0.